Statistics Coursework 2013 Oscar

We held an informal ceremony in the School yesterday to award our outstanding undergraduate students, and to confer scholarships to several high school leavers.

Standout students in the 2015 round of prizes included Gregory Karanikas, Guanting Liu and Oscar Wilkie, who each scored two awards each, and Daniel Altman who received four. Daniel has proven to be an exceptional student, having won School prizes every year since he commenced studies in 2013.

Students were presented with their prizes and scholarships by Deputy Head of School Prof. John Roberts, and a relaxed lunch was held in the School's common room.

Congratulations to all of the winning students. Please see the list of all prize and scholarship winners below.

2015 Prize Winners

The School of Mathematics and Statistics Prize for Level 3 Applied Mathematics

Himmat Panag

The C H Peck Prize

Guanting Liu & Gregory Karanikas

The Head of School's Prize

Peter Bradshaw & Daniel Altman

The J R Holmes Prize in Pass Level Pure Mathematics

Thuy Ann Truong

The J R Holmes Prize in Level 3 Pure Mathematics

Daniel Altman

The Michael Mihailavitch Erihman Award

Daniel Altman

The School of Mathematics Prize for Level 1 Mathematics

Ray Li

The School of Mathematics Prize for Level 2 Mathematics

Gregory Karanikas & Guanting Liu

The SAS Institute Australia Pty Ltd Prize

Josephine Ngan & Oscar Wilkie

The Weatherzone Prize in Introduction to Atmosphere and Ocean Dynamics

Oscar Wilkie

The Weatherzone Prize in Fluids, Oceans and Climate

Sarah Lugay

The Alma Douglas Prize for Level 3 Statistics

Yi-Lung Chen

The Buchwald Award

Harry Gibbs & Christopher Rock

The George Szekeres Prize

Peter Bradshaw & Daniel Altman

The School of Mathematics and Statistics Prize for 1st Year Actuarial Maths

Aaron Hassan

The Women in Mathematics and Statistics Prize, Level 1

Brittany Evat

The Women in Mathematics and Statistics Prize, Level 2

Madeleine Kyng

The Women in Mathematics and Statistics Prize, Level 3

Anny Francis

Scholarships for School Leavers

Potishko Family Goldman Sachs Gives Mathematics Award

Evangelos Kohilas

School of Maths & Stats Scholarship

Jack Hilliar

Teachers Scholarship

Dennis Kai

Rural Scholarship

Conor Tumbers

Girls Do the Maths

Claudia Wallis

Beautiful Mind and Michael Dorrell

Tianchen Lan

Beautiful Mind and Michael Dorrell

Rishikesan Maran

Statistics Scholarship

Kevin Ge

Pictured above, from L-R: Anny Francis; Daniel Altman

Mu Sigma Rho is the National Statistics Honor Society which was founded at Iowa State University in 1968 by Ted Bancroft, David Huntsberger, and Oscar Kempthorne. The organization's membership includes students, both undergraduate and graduate, faculty, and honorary members in 17 chapters throughout the country. The purpose of our society is to promote and encourage scholarly activity in statistics and to recognize achievement among students and faculty.

The Virginia Alpha Chapter of Mu Sigma Rho was established at Virginia Tech in 1979. The chapter meets twice a year. At the fall meeting in November new members are recognized and presented with certificates. The spring meeting is held in April to announce the results of the election of officers for the upcoming term. As part of the chapter's commitment to excellence in statistics, a speaker is sponsored at both meetings in conjunction with the weekly colloquium series in the Department of Statistics at Virginia Tech. Recent speakers include:

  •  Dr. Art Owen (Stanford University) - Fall 2017
  • Dr. James Scott (University of Texas at Austin) - Spring 2017
  • Dr. Barry Nussbaum (EPA) - Spring 2016
  • Dr. Brian Reich (North Carolina State University) - Fall 2015
  • Dr. Jessica Utz (University of California Irvine) - Spring 2015
  • Dr. Jim Hobert (University of Florida) - Fall 2014
  • Dr. Mike West (Duke University) - Spring 2014
  • Dr. Marie Davidian (North Carolina State University) - Fall 2013
  • Dr. William Notz (Ohio State University) - Spring 2013
  • Dr. Peter Bickel (University of California Berkley) - Fall 2012
  • Dr. Alan Gelfand (Duke University) - Spring 2012
    Dr. Max Morris (Iowa State) - Fall 2011
  • Dr. Dipek Dey (University of Connecticut) - Spring 2011
  • Dr. Dennis Lin (Pennsylvania State University) - Fall 2010
  • Dr. Douglas Zahn (Florida State University) - Spring 2010
  • Dr. Montserrat Fuentes (North Carolina State University) - Fall 2009
  • Dr. Jerry Oglesby (SAS) - Spring 2009
  • Dr. J. Stuart Hunter - Fall 2008
  • Dr. Oliver Schabenberger (SAS Institute Inc.) - Spring 2008
  • Dr. Alan Agresti (University of Florida) - Fall 2007
  • Dr. Andrew Lawson (University of South Carolina) - Spring 2007
  • Dr. Klaus Hinkelmann (Virginia Tech) - Fall 2006
  • Dr. Douglas M. Hawkins (University of Minnesota) - Spring 2006
  • Dr. Raymond H. Myers (Virginia Tech) - Fall 2005
  • Dr. Paul F. Velleman (Cornell University) - Spring 2005
  • Dr. Raymond H. Myers (Virginia Tech) - Fall 2004
  • Dr. Norman Draper (University of Wisconsin) - Spring 2004
  • Dr. Michael Lavine (Duke University) - Fall 2003
  • Dr. John A. Cornell (University of Florida) - Spring 2003
  • Dr. Angela Neff-Patterson (General Electric) - Fall 2002


In order to qualify for membership in Mu Sigma Rho, graduate students must have completed at least 12 or more graduate credit hours in statistics with a QCA of 3.5 or better. Undergraduate students must be seeking a bachelor's degree in statistics, towards which they must have completed two years of coursework. Eight credit hours must be statistics course work with at least five of these credit hours being at the junior level or higher. They must also have a major QCA of at least 3.25 and be in top 1/3 of their class (junior or senior).

0 Replies to “Statistics Coursework 2013 Oscar”

Lascia un Commento

L'indirizzo email non verrà pubblicato. I campi obbligatori sono contrassegnati *